Princess Tea Party/ Moms Day Out

Princess Tea Party/ Moms Day Out

Generations, Part Two Blessings Psalm 37:4, 5 “Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” Yesterday was a fun day. Summer is winding down and the new school year is quickly approaching. Two of my princess granddaughters are old enough now for tea parties. I have been waiting to do this for 7 years. That was when my mom gave me the most adorable set of dishes. Since this was our first go at a tea party we wanted to start small. We had 7 little girls ranging in age from 20 months to 7 years old. It was a delight filled afternoon. Mostly because my teen daughters ran the show. They began with coloring their placemats. Game time included tape the tiara on the princess. As I finished the final food preparations (yes, I did do something), the girls listened to a reading of The Princess and The Kiss, by Jennie Bishop. Before coming to the table they had a princess table manners review. The princesses were all so well behaved, they went home happy, and the mom’s had an afternoon out. At least 3 of the mom’s, including my daughter, have claimed Psalm 37:4 as their life verse. What a sweet verse. At first glance, these words could lead us to believe God could be our Santa Claus. He’ll give me the desires of my heart? SWEET! Verse 5, though tells us how to delight our Heavenly Father: “Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” So we are to do what? ⦁ Delight in Him. Easy-peasy. I love Jesus as my Savior, the Lord as my Shepherd. I can do this. ⦁ Commit your way to the LORD Commit my way? my life? my family? my wants? Then there’s the all caps LORD. I didn’t know until I was in my 30’s how important that is. Jehovah. Yaweh. A name too holy for the Jews of Jesus’s day to even say out loud. So they called him Adonai, or Lord. Am I in such awe of him? Do I have that same reverential respect or even fear of him as I pray Dear Heavenly Father? He is the Righteous Judge after all. They had good reason to fear him, and sometimes so do we. ⦁ Trust in Him. Believe he has my best covered. He is the almighty God and I need to make his desires mine. That changes things. Delight then commit. That takes effort. Everyday. Knowing him through His Holy Word, the Bible. Praying my desires will line up in accordance to his will. Then, trusting that, as he has clearly said in the Scriptures, he will care for me. Provide my needs, but not always my wants. Especially if they are not good for me. I pray that for each of the little princesses that were here for our party. They each have a godly heritage. Many of them have already trusted Jesus as their Savior. But they will face many rough patches in the years ahead. It takes big faith to follow their Lord Jesus throughout life. I hope to be along side them, teaching and praying.

 

2 thoughts on “Princess Tea Party/ Moms Day Out

Leave a Reply

