Honestly!

Honestly!

Lesson Learned: Humility. Aren’t these dishes cute? I thought so, too. So I impulsively bought them thinking I could return them later. Wrong! Long story short I am happy to say I sold them.

I am happier to say I learned a lesson. In humility as well as honesty.

I had to first admit I made a mistake. I didn’t check the store policy regarding returns. I won’t do that again. Then, I had to admit it to my husband. No problem there, he is very forgiving and understanding. Next, I decided that I needed to sell them. That was good. Where I went wrong was thinking I needed to make a profit. A kind lady in Washington State bought them and they are safely, please Lord! on their way to her now.

But honestly, what was the second lesson? Oh, yes, honesty. I am not an honest person. I am a liar, a deceiver, a cheat, I could go on. I tell lies, usually just ‘little white lies’. I exaggerate, by using words like: never. I NEVER…(fill in the blank) or I ALWAYS…(fill in the blank). I say, “Just kidding” when I have said something that I meant; but I am not willing to take responsibility for the pain the words inflicted. It is easier to let someone think I was ‘teasing’ than to resolve the heart issue. Which may be, I don’t like you. Or I am angry or hurt or disappointed in you.

What does Jesus say about lying? First I have to give a little perspective. In John 8:42-47 Jesus is speaking to the Pharisees. Men that generally went about trying to disprove the claim that Jesus is the Christ the Son of God. 

Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me.  Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word.  You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.  But because I tell the truth, you do not believe me.  Which one of you convicts me of sin? If I tell the truth, why do you not believe me?  Whoever is of God hears the words of God. The reason why you do not hear them is that you are not of God.

I am not a Pharisee. I am a child of God. I certainly do not want to speak the devil’s native language.

I have to also go to Colossians 3:9 “Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices” ESV

Putting off the old self, my sinful nature is the lesson I want to learn. Before I die I hope to be humble. I hope to be honest. If I don’t make that goal I know that when I see my Savior face to face the reflection I see will be all that I am through believing in Him. No more of my sinful self. Only Christ alone.

 

Leave a Reply

