Bowels, really?

bowels, Strong’s G4698 – splagchnon 1) bowels, intestines, (the heart, lungs, liver, etc.) a) bowels b) the bowels were regarded as the seat of the more violent passions, such as anger and love; but by the Hebrews as the seat of the tenderer affections, esp. kindness, benevolence, compassion; hence our heart (tender mercies, affections, etc.) c) a heart in which mercy resides Pastor preached yesterday on the phrase “bowels of mercy” from Colossians 3:12. The word bowel or bowels appears 39 times in the King James Version. Only 5 times in the English Standard Version. Bowels of mercy in the KJV is often translated in more modern translations as compassion, or heart of compassion. I know I want to be merciful in my inmost being. Mercy has been shown to me by my Heavenly Father for not punishing me for my sins; by my Savior the Lord Jesus Christ on the cross and through the Resurrection when he took the punishment for our sins and conquered death. Mercy has also been demonstrated to me by my parents. I was a mouthy and deceitful teen that should have been beaten senseless. Mercy is shown to me over and over again by my husband and children for my many faults. Am I merciful? mercy: Strong’s G1653  eleeō   How about compassionate? compassion: Strong’s g4697splagchnizomai  1) to be moved as to one’s bowels, hence to be moved with compassion, have compassion (for the bowels were thought to be the seat of love and pity) I want to know Christ. Being merciful, and compassionate are defining characteristics of his character. I want his character to be my character. Today I will seek ways to show mercy, kindness, and compassion.

 

Leave a Reply

