Serving Nebuchadnezzar

As I was reading  Jeremiah 27 I saw the words:

“Then I spoke to the priests and to all this people, saying, “It is I who by my great power and my outstretched arm have made the earth, with the men and animals that are on the earth, and I give it to whomever it seems right to me.  Now I have given all these lands into the hand of Nebuchadnezzar, the king of Babylon, my servant, and I have given him also the beasts of the field to serve him.  All the nations shall serve him and his son and his grandson, until the time of his own land comes. Then many nations and great kings shall make him their slave.  But any nation that will bring its neck under the yoke of the king of Babylon and serve him, I will leave on its own land, to work it and dwell there, declares the LORD.  To Zedekiah king of Judah I spoke in like manner: “Bring your necks under the yoke of the king of Babylon, and serve him and his people and live.  Do not listen to them; (the false prophets telling them not to serve King Nebuchadnezzar) serve the king of Babylon and live. Why should this city become a desolation?” “Jeremiah 27:16,17

 

Wow, really? Serve a pagan king. Why, Lord? Surely this cannot be correct.

 

But God had a plan. A plan that we can see clearly looking back thousands and thousands of years. The people of that day could not. Jeremiah was called the ‘weeping prophet’ for good reason. He was persecuted mercilessly by his own people. All for sharing the message the Lord God Jehovah gave him.

 

I need to be listening to what Jesus says. Do what Jesus did. Follow the obedience of God’s true prophets, patriarchs, disciples, apostles, and saints.  Even, and sometimes especially, when it doesn’t make sense. It will be against the culture. People get hurt and even angry.

 

Jesus Christ spoke about that in John 15.

“These things I command you, so that you will love one another. “If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” John 15:17-19 ESV

 

Love and hate. I can be hated by the world. I hope I am strong enough to endure worse persecution than that even.

 

Leave a Reply

