Frugal Living

In many ways I feel like a ‘Janey come Lately’ to the frugal world.  In other ways I feel like a veteran.

Recent new frugal ways are: making homemade spaghetti sauce. I started that last summer. I began with large cans of tomato sauce, tomato puree, and tomato paste from Sam’s Club. I add my own herbs either fresh or dried.  This summer I am using the tomatoes from my backyard and my father-in-law’s. My family likes my sauce. That is all that counts, oh yeah, and saving money.

I make my own facial cleanser and moisturizer.  This one is thanks to my daughter’s cousin-in-law, Lacey. I use 2 parts olive oil and 1 part castor oil. It works fantastically both in the winter when my skin is extra dry, and in the summer.  I tend to *sweat*, not *glisten* as my friend suggested. My face feels clean and smooth. I also use a Norwex wash cloth. I LOVE MY NORWEX!

Thanks again to Norwex cloths,  did I mention that I love Norwex products? I have been getting rid of chemicals like bleach. I also stopped using cleaning products like: window cleaners,  floor cleaners, Clorox wipes, and dryer sheets. Liquid fabric softeners have been long gone. They were leaving such a build up in my washing machine and drain hoses; just imagine what they do to our clothes, ew!

I make my own liquid foaming hand soap, again, I think that recipe came from Lacey.

We buy Ivory bar soap for the shower and bath. I also buy toilet cleaner, The Works, it is the cheapest.  I found, thank you , Lord!  it works the best.

My new venture, and this is how I feel like a late comer, is making my own laundry soap. After much research, thank you all for your input, I have settled on this recipe:

I found all of these items at Wal-mart:

1 large box Borax

1 large box Arm & Hammer washing soda

1 large box Arm & Hammer soda

1 large tub Oxy Clean powder (white whites and bright colors are important to us)

2 bars of Ivory Soap, (I grated these in the food processor. I am not against the use of electricity to save the skin on my knuckles. There was the added bonus of my food processor getting nice and clean after only soaking it.  I heard that it works best if the soap is taken out of the package and left out to dry, but I was not that patient, so I have bigger pieces. Next time I will be better prepared)

I am storing all this in the five gallon bucket my husband bought for me at the Restore. It was only $2.

For liquid soap it is 1 1/2 cups of the powder to 4 cups of HOT water.  Vinegar is my second best (after Norwex) cleaning friend. I am wondering about using it to help activate the cleaning power.

I will keep you updated on how white my whites are. I have a shirt in mind that I want to tackle.

One thought on “Frugal Living

  1. That sounds like a great recipe, Lesa! I’ve used a similar one and was happy with the results :). Can’t wait to hear how you like it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

