Fall Frenzy

Psalm 127 is one of my favorite psalms. This morning I am thinking of verse 2 as I plan out my day.

It is in vain that you rise up early
and go late to rest,
eating the bread of anxious toil;
for he gives to his beloved sleep.

I am not a good sleeper. I wake up to pray, then when that goes on for an hour, I will read. Often that goes on and I get up. At 3 a.m!

Todd, on the other hand is a great sleeper. He hits the pillow and is out for the full 7 to 8 hours. How does he do that? I have no idea. I hope to learn someday. I have a lot to learn yet from him.

Today is the last day of our second week of school. I am exhausted before it even starts, not physically, just mentally, even emotionally. I guess a better word would be I am weary.

That is not what my Heavenly Father wants for me. He wants me to rest in him, to be still. I want that as well.

Next week I will need to focus on resting  in my morning prayer and Bible reading time. I want to be all my Lord and Savior wants me to be, not all that I want to be. The high expectations I have for myself as a wife, mother, teacher, grandma, and daughter, are mine, and not from the Lord.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 7:28-30 ESV

Leave a Reply

