Praying “I O U S”

Praying for My Family

I am often looking for new ways to pray for my family. Each January they all give me their prayer requests as well as spiritual goals for themselves. It is our own alternative to New Year’s resolutions.

I came across an acronym that John Piper, of Desiring God,  uses to pray for his family and those closest to him.

He uses the letters I, O, U, and S to help him remember key scripture verses that he wants to apply to his own life and to his family’s.

 

  • to give us an Inclination to his Word and not to money or fame or power. “Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain! Psalm 119:36 ESV
  • to Open our eyes to see wonderful things when we read his Word “Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.”  Psalm 119:18 ESV
  • to have hearts United in the fear of God rather than fragmented over a dozen concerns   “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.”  Psalm 86:11 ESV
  • to be Satisfied in his steadfast love   “Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love,
        that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.”  Psalm 90:14 ESV

Praying scripture is powerful. Pray these verses for yourself, your family, and others on your prayer list.

Leave a Reply

