The Boy of My Heart

IMG_0854

Thirteen years ago today my firstborn son entered our all girl family. We were completely surprised that he was not our Lily Rose, but an Andrew Richard!

I could go on about my pregnancy and delivery at 40 years old. What a joy the whole experience was. Even going into labor is a great story.

As I was writing in the card my husband made for Andrew, I thought of a day more than 10 years before he was born. By the way, please forgive my lack of photography skill that makes my husband’s card making talent look really dumpy.

I should explain the card a little. Todd makes our greeting cards. He is a graphic artist extraordinaire! When he asked me what picture I wanted him to use, I said he should find the one we took the fattest day of Andrew’s life. You get to figure out which pic it is. Todd has always very lovingly called him “Fat Boy”. He is not fat. In fact Andrew is in that long-legged stage where I cannot keep him in pants long enough for his skinny waist.

I call Andrew, “The Boy of My Heart”. When I was working I had a close friend that knew I wanted a slew of babies. I had 1 or 2 at the time, I can’t remember. I do clearly remember the conversation I had with her one day and exactly what I said.

I told her that I was praying for God to give me a son. I also said I did not care what he became even if he were to be a janitor or a garbage man, as long as he served his Lord Jesus Christ.

That prayer has been answered. Not only did God grant me a son, my son serves his Lord Jesus Christ. He serves him in our home, in our church, and in our community through Child Evangelism Fellowship

I am blessed beyond what I ever imagined all those years ago.

My son, if you receive my words
    and treasure up my commandments with you,
making your ear attentive to wisdom
    and inclining your heart to understanding;
yes, if you call out for insight
    and raise your voice for understanding,
if you seek it like silver
    and search for it as for hidden treasures,
then you will understand the fear of the Lord
    and find the knowledge of God.   Proverbs 2:1-5 ESV

Leave a Reply

