Mapping My Path

Map My Fitness  is a great website for walkers to calculate the distance of their walk, figure the time the workout took, and monitor their fitness progress. I have  halfheartedly used it in the past. It is a fun way to find out how far I have walked when I have gone for a long walk using a different path.

I love walking, it is my chosen exercise program. It is not enough. I know I need to do more; like strength training, stretching, balance, and other things that, thankfully, I am not even aware of.

This morning I was reading a friend’s prayer concerns. In the email she mentioned Andy Stanley’s book titled The Principle of the Path.  In his book he has this quote:  “The principle of the path teaches that direction determines destination”.

The principle of the path teaches that direction determines destination. That bore repeating!

I know where I am going. I have a Guide. There is great peace in knowing that when my life is over The Great Shepherd will welcome me into his presence.

Often , though, I am anxious about where this path leads me. I don’t know what today holds for me. Sometimes I lay in bed and entertain crazy, fearful thoughts that I am not even going to write down. I don’t want you to go there, and I don’t want you to know how much of a nut I really am.

Nothing matters to me beyond the fact that I want to know my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ more and more. I want to follow his ways. I want to call out to my Heavenly Father all day long and ask him to guide me and my family. I don’t always do that. It takes concentration. It takes having a prayerful attitude. I am easily distracted and lose focus too often.

Every morning for many years it has been my habit to meet with the Lord. To read his Word, pray and commit my day to him. It is the only way for me to follow the path I need to be on. Direction determines destination!

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
    for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

 You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
   forever. 

Psalm 23 ESV

Leave a Reply

