Grace

Yesterday, I enjoyed lunch with my dear friend. We don’t do it very often since we both have very busy schedules. It was desperately needed and such a time of refreshment. We sat at a window table eating our subs, baring our souls to each other, crying. We ended our time together holding hands across the table and praying.

We talked about grace and redemption. It was a subject we both know a lot about. We can both quote several verses to back up what we believe; we have songs and hymns memorized about grace and redemption. Yet we needed to remind each other of the grace that is available to us always due to our position as God’s children. We are saved by grace through faith in our Lord Jesus Christ.

We talked about the loads of guilt we choose to carry around. No one likes guilt trips, especially when it is thrust upon us by others. The guilt we purposely carry around with us is just plain wrong, yet difficult to get past.

This verse is such a beautiful picture of our glorious position in Jesus Christ when he is our Savior and Lord:

“I will greatly rejoice in the Lord;
    my soul shall exult in my God,
for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation;
    he has covered me with the robe of righteousness,
as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress,
    and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”  Isaiah 61:10  ESV

A robe of righteousness has been given to me, and to every believer in Jesus. “As a bride adorns herself with her jewels”, I need to be putting on that grace every day. God does not want me to feel defeated, that is my choice. I belong to him and he is the Victor.

I left that time with my friend refreshed. I know she did too.

2 thoughts on “Grace

Leave a Reply

