Romance

Last night, Todd and I happened to walk past the TV during a proposal. I, of course, thought it was very sweet. He thought it was staged and therefore dumb. I quickly turned it into a “why can’t you be more romantic?” moment.

Romance is a desire of every woman. An unquenchable thirst, there is never enough!  I love romance; I want romance, always more romance. Most of the time more than my husband can provide. I let that turn into disappointment. Who am I disappointed in? God!

Truly, when I am not satisfied with what I have,  I am wanting more than what God has provided. Did God give me the husband I have? Absolutely, yes! Is God disappointed in him? Absolutely, not! Then why am I ever disappointed?

I am disappointed because of covetousness and that is idolatry! Covetousness is wanting what I don’t have. Idolatry is worshiping something other than God.

What does the Bible say?

“Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, and do not be harsh with them” Colossians 3:18, 19 ESV

Wives submit, husbands love, and don’t be harsh. God’s Word is pretty clear, concise, and to the point. I have no right to expect more. Yet, I do. Funny, I don’t expect myself to submit more, I quite often pat myself on the back for being a very submissive wife.

I need to be grateful for the wonderful man that God has given me to be my husband. He is very loving, even romantic, and he satisfies me.

Last weekend I had one of those moments where I felt overwhelmingly loved and adored by Todd. In that moment it struck me that what I felt was just a small taste of Christ’s love for me as His bride. For all eternity, I will know that great love in a way that I only experience in tastes here on earth.

Leave a Reply

