Full Surrender

Appomattox

This picture is of the home of Wilmer McClean It is where the Civil War was declared over when General Lee surrendered to General Grant, on April 9, 1865.

In the second chapter of Surrender: The Heart God Controls, Nancy Leigh DeMoss describes the end of the Civil War and uses it as a metaphor of the war many of us carry on for too many years:

“Peace through surrender: Lee’s surrender paved the way for peace to be restored to a war-torn nation. In the spiritual realm there can be no peace with God , nor can there be peace in our hearts, apart from unconditional surrender. Refusing to surrender merely compounds our losses; delayed surrender only prolongs the conflict.”

I don’t know the exact date of my complete surrender to Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I remember where I stood, and what I prayed. Most importantly, I know it ended the battle I had been waging against my Heavenly Father.

Although I had been a professing born-again Christian for 20 years, I had not lived in complete surrender to Jesus before that moment. I had not yet completely repented from my sin. I was not willing to admit that my life was a big deception. I was all about my reputation. As long as people thought I was good, I was happy. You can probably figure out on your own that it took a lot of deceit to keep that up.

I never fooled God. After 20 years of calling myself His child I finally admitted my sinful wretched lie to my loving Heavenly Father. When I confessed my sin I immediately knew the truth of 1 John 1:9  “If we confess our sin He is faithful and just to forgive us our sin and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

I have thanked God for that verse thousands of times since that day. I know the truth of it.  I walk in such a closer fellowship now as I live in surrender to His will. I know that, through Jesus, my Heavenly Father loves me, forgives me and calls me His own. That is peace.

Leave a Reply

