Giving Thanks

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 

I spent this morning giving thanks. First for my many blessings and there are many of them. I am not going to list them they are numerous and I am unworthy of them.

A wise young friend has been putting up her thankful posts on Facebook faithfully every day this month. I have read several of them. She writes so beautifully and gave honor to so many people.

Yesterday this was what she wrote: “I am thankful for the people God sends into my life who challenge me to be more like the “little Christ” I claim to be.” 

I thought more about that post than any of the others. I spent most of my time in prayer this morning thanking my Heavenly Father for my difficulties, for situations that draw me closer to Him. It is easy to thank Him for my family, for my church and friends, for provision.

This morning I thanked the Lord for the situations that bring me to the end of myself and my earthly resources. There are many things in my life, and I am sure in yours, that I did not choose. Yet these very people and circumstances are ordained by God to draw me into a deeper understanding of my need to deny myself and become more like Jesus Christ.

Today I want my first reaction to be thanks in all things, first for difficulties and secondly for blessings.

 

Leave a Reply

