Peace

IMG_1113
Mondays are not peaceful. I am just going to admit that straight up. This time of year I wake up most mornings with a sinus headache. It goes away almost immediately when I get up, but it makes me want to stay in bed, even though I know that getting up will make it go away. Crazy, right?
My children are not eager to begin school even after our time with the Lord in our morning devotions. Especially not on Mondays.  I always expect a miracle in that half hour where as soon as we say ‘amen’ they leap from their chairs and joyfully skip to their desks to begin their work. It doesn’t happen that way, ever.
My husband is not eager to leave me on Mondays, we enjoy our time together on the weekends and his job is stressful. Our prayer time on Monday mornings is always about the stress of the week looming dreadfully ahead.
This week is a busy week. I am most happy when I am at home doing my homemaking. When there are lots of other things that pull me away from home it can become overwhelming to me.
Yet I found peace this morning; on a Monday. A stormy Monday. The picture above is gloomy looking, even depressing. It is my view every morning. It is never depressing to me. I love that view in all seasons, and at all times of day and night. The first thing I do every morning is meet with the Lord right before that window. I see Him there in His creation. I find Him in prayer and in His Word.  Strength and peace are there.
This morning I read this from Janet Denison in “Looking Forward to Christmas”:
“And they will live securely, for then his greatness will reach to the ends of the earth. And he will be their peace”  (Micah 5:4-5)
“Peace isn’t the absence of stress, it is the ability to overcome stress. Peace isn’t the absence of problems, it is the ability to experience God’s guidance in the midst of problems…(the prophet) Micah said Jesus came to be your peace.”
Did you catch that? Jesus is our peace! He says ( I like to use the word ‘says’ rather than said when quoting Jesus because His words are just as alive today as when He was here on earth ) in John 14: 27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”
His peace He gives to us. Today His peace is available to me in all that I face today. His peace, not mine, not the world’s peace, His. That makes me eager to face this Monday. I know He will be at work in my heart and in my home today because we are seeking Him.
There will still be stress, and work to be done, but He is there beside us and going before us. That is peace to me.

Leave a Reply

