Where Have I Been?

I have been asked why I have not been writing. I have been ashamed to admit why. It is silly and super vain.

I read a woman’s blog that my daughter follows. She said her blog has been slow of late. Her readership has been down to “only 250,000 a month.” WHAT? That stunned me. I have probably a dozen followers. Then I realized I am doing this for all the wrong reasons. So I quit.

What are my wrong reasons? I want attention. I want people to notice me, to say, “Hey, good job”. I also hoped to make some money. In short, pride.  Which is sin.  I knew I needed to step back.

For the past several months when the Lord has revealed something really stirring to me, I have kept it to myself. When something fun or amazing happened I just enjoyed it and left it there. For awhile I wrote ‘drafts’; but I had even stopped doing that.

What are the right reasons to write blog posts? I am not sure. I do know that I need to do all things for the glory of God.

I read this verse in Isaiah:

“Rise up, you women who are at ease, hear my voice;
    you complacent daughters, give ear to my speech.” Isaiah 32:9

And I  knew it was time to blog again. If I only have 3 readers, (thank you, Sarah, Abby, and Lindsay!) that’s okay. There are times God’s word speaks so clearly to me I just feel like I’ll explode if I don’t share it. Blogging is my outlet.

So, out of what I truly desire to be a humble heart, I am beginning again.

 

“If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love.”  John 15:10

10 thoughts on “Where Have I Been?

  1. I love you, your thoughts and look forward to so much more. I have missed this! There are more of us out here waiting for more… Keep it coming!

    Like

  2. A transparent heart is a teachable heart that touches us all. Thank you for a godly example of humility. I look forward to reading more.

    Like

  3. I’m so happy that you are blogging again! It’s good to be in tune with our hearts and the blogging world can be funny at times. Just know why you do what you do, and ask God to work through it and He will. I blog to share our life, to share our church ministry and for my photography business. And I figure that some day, I will be glad to have a chronicle of how life was, since it seems to be going by so quickly these days. Thanks for sharing your heart and I know I will look forward to reading your posts!

    Like

  4. I stopped blogging over a year ago for many of the same reasons you did plus I miss my late husband’s support. I guess we all would like a like acclaim, but I am thinking that if I give just one person something they need then I will have helped them in my own way. Coming soon, I hope, Terri’s Favorite Coconut Cake. MichiganCottageCook.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

