From Bad to Worse to Glorious

IMG_0012

We have always been Calvin and Hobbes fans. I relate much better to his mom. Some of us relate better to Calvin, some to Hobbes.

Last Friday, we were awoken at 2:30 a.m. to a mess in the basement. Long story super short, we had a flood, and all the projects we had put off for someday are happening at this very moment.

That is the bad and the worse. The glorious is what happened about 16 hours into our restoration project. My daughter’s lovely mother-in-law pulled into my driveway with the best early Christmas present any girl could ever wish for:  my Georgia daughter Lindsay, her husband, and two precious babies.

I had been working steadily with only a short 1 1/2 hour nap since the wee hours of the morning. I kept at it knowing we were going to be so pleased with the results of this massive undertaking. I was not discouraged. Short-tempered, I will admit to just in case anyone who lives with me reads this…

When I saw my baby girl get out of that van, I fell on her neck and sobbed! I blubbered all over my son-in-law, their son, their daughter, even the lovely mother-in-law, and her sweet mom. It was quite the sight. I have heard there are photos and videos. I have not taken the time to look at them. They will probably not be pictures I will share publicly. Remember I had been working since the wee hours of the morning.

Perspective, that is what this is about. My viewpoint changed 100% as soon as I saw her. I had already been counting the blessings for how God had provided for us in this ‘disaster’. Little did I know, though a few others did, that the best was yet to come.

The best is always yet to come. I have hope because of Jesus Christ. Life is uncertain, He is certain. Life is unpredictable, He never changes. There will always be natural disasters, wars, rumors of war, etc. With God though, there is great peace, unspeakable joy and hope forevermore.

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” Romans 12:12

Leave a Reply

