Homeschool Mom School of Guilt

IMG_2058

This is where our homeschool books are. I wanted to take a picture of my desk, but I couldn’t find it. Please let me know if you see it. It is a roll top and should not be this hard to find.

This morning Henry asked me an innocent question, “Mom, what is a book report?” You fellow homeschool moms will probably be able to relate to the feelings of guilt that question brought out.

Our homeschool year is on hold. The last day of our first week God sent a flood. It was not one of biblical proportions, but a devastating flood nonetheless. As our DIY restoration project continues, I am having to get creative with keeping my scholars busy and off media. When they can’t even climb over the computer desk to get to their favorite book series, it makes the simple command, “Go find something to read” a challenging quest.

My dearest friend will tell you that I have not been very flexible with my schedule over the years. The four daughters that have graduated can testify to my rigidity. Surely there is a lesson for me in all this. Then today,  I read a beautifully encouraging email from Terri Johnson of Knowledge Quest.

This is my favorite part:

Have you ever felt like you were barely hanging on?

We all want to feel like we have our act together. At the least, we want to look like we have our act together.

When it comes to homeschooling, there are times when we are struck with pangs of inadequacy.

Inadequate was how I felt when I heard that question from my son. I wanted to get him right to the library and check out a stack of books on the Mayflower Compact. Then I remembered he has a fever. Oh, and it is 6:30 A.M. and the library is closed.

I really believe Romans 8:28, that all things work together for good. I am happy that we are getting our basement spiffed up. My children are thrilled that we are taking an extended “vacation”. I just need reminding often that it will all work out in the end.

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Mom School of Guilt

Leave a Reply

