Being an Old Battleaxe

battleaxe

Being an “Old Battleaxe” is a derogatory term for an older woman with strong opinions. I resemble that remark, and I am not ashamed.

I tend to go off on crazy tangents in my Bible reading and study. This morning I was reading about the Horse Gate in Old Jerusalem. Nancy Campbell, the author of “Gate-Keepers of The Home”, does such a great job of creating word pictures. In chapter 9 she writes about God roaring like a lion. Then she goes on to share many scripture verses where God’s people are called to be like a lioness roaring against her enemies.

When she used the word “battleaxe” I immediately got the giggles picturing an image like the cartoon above. Being an “Old Battleaxe” is considered a bad thing. Yet in Jeremiah 51:20 God calls His people to be just that, battleaxes.

I looked up the Hebrew word for battleaxe: mappet:  war club, battleaxe, or hammer.

Is it okay for a godly woman to go into battle wielding a fierce weapon? You better know it! The next question is what is our best weapon? Yep, it is our Bibles. Now stop right here those of you who have the picture in your mind of me smacking someone with a Bible. I actually did that, playfully, in church just last month. I hope the young man I smacked took it in the manner it was intended. I think he did.

The Bible is a fantastic weapon. Sharper than any battleaxe. Who are the enemies we use it on? The powers of darkness alive and well in our world today. We all know them. They want our children, they want our marriages, they want our churches, schools and government.

We must use God’s word tempered with love. “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.” 1 John 4:7

Love is a strong word. Godly love is a challenge I seek after every day, and fall short of every day. My desire is to love as God loves, even in my battles against sin. That’s not easy, in fact it is very difficult; but, in Christ alone,  it is very possible.

We can’t use God’s Word if we don’t own it. I don’t mean just having a Bible, or many Bibles, sitting on our shelf. I mean own it by knowing it. Keep it with you. Read it and memorize it and you will be able to call on its power in great and mighty ways. It has helped me through many dark days in the past. The future is not uncertain to me since I know that God will always guide and direct me because of His many promises found throughout the Scriptures.

“For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit,” Hebrews 4:12

2 thoughts on “Being an Old Battleaxe

Leave a Reply

