Riding a Little Donkey Instead of a High Horse

10014652_10152771275877731_6630229042547971488_n

“All this happened to fulfill the prophet’s saying—‘Tell the daughter of Zion, Behold your king is coming to you, lowly, and sitting on a donkey, a colt, the foal of a donkey’.” Matthew 21:4,5

Last night I stewed, and made snippy comments all because of a missed “thank you”. I offered, and did a simple task, then when it was not recognized as a great act of service, I was offended. This morning it seems all so childish. Especially as I open my Bible and read about how the the Lord Jesus Christ humbled Himself.

In “Gate-Keepers of the Home”, Nancy Campbell does such a lovely job of describing humility. This is what she says:

“How often we get on our “high horse”! Many times we won’t come off. This isn’t the way of Jesus. He rides the foal of a donkey. Will you follow His example? Will you get off your high horse and choose the lowly way?”

Being humble and serving our husbands and children is a glorious honor. Taking on the form of a servant, even slave, is so very contrary to my nature. There are many lowly tasks I do without grumbling, but occasionally I expect recognition, expect, not want. That word “expect” is what too often trips me up. When this happens I am no longer doing my work unto the Lord but for myself. Pride is what it is called. Sin is what God calls it.

Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” Philippians 2:5-7

Leave a Reply

